Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have noticed a few small drips under my cat of af so since there is no snow I decided to take off the belly pan and do some research on where it is from. I thought maybe a small leak from a hose. Needless to say I went over every hose and nothing. So lastnight I stopped at my buddies and got a pressure ga. for coolant systems and put pressure to it and I discovered there is a leak where the cover bolts onto the case on the water pump bottom side. Stupid me did not think to maybe try tightening the bolts but instead came down to my house and ordered the new O-ring PN#3004-183. Then after reading some other posts on this topic I realize this is common although Im 99% sure mine is leaking at the cover. Im a rookie but I plan on tackling this myself and was wondering if I should replace all the gaskets -o rings or just the cover 0ring? Also when I take the cover off so I need to do anything besides replacing the old one and putting it back on? Oh and first I will check the bolts!! Thanks

·
Registered
3,340 Posts
I am guessing it is not your cover. It is more than likely the mechanical seal behind the impellar. Buy the seal. both washers, bolt, and impellar. I have not seen the o-ring go bad before. When you put it back together put a small amount of ultra black sealant where the two case halves meet.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Mike I went and checked OEM pic and correct me if Im wrong on these part #'s . Number 8 washer 3003-432 Number 9 Impellar #3004-184 Number 11 3003-431 Washer Number 12 Seal 3005-909. Hate to be a pain but how hard is it to change this stuff and is there any tips you could give me also, I will be able to do all this without pulling the engine?? I hope

·
Registered
3,340 Posts