Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Administrator
7,932 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just put new pistons and rings in. It runs great. probably 100 miles on her so far.
Painted pipes yesterday, re installed them and fired it up. Noticed engine moving more than normal. Looked at motor mount near the recoil and it's still there, not broken but the 2 bolts going into the engine arent there. One is in the belly pan, sheared off. the other is ????
Today, out comes the engine, again.
I can see the rest of the bolt, it's inside the engine.
probably have to drill it out (yeah,it's a grade 8 bolt) and more than likely have to drill it larger and tap new threaded into one of the 2 bolts holes in the engine. I'm not an expert on drilling and tapping especially in aluminum.
Any advise would be helpful. thanks.
This engine broke 3 or 4 motor mounts, all the same one, so I made one out of steel instead of the cast aluminum one that Cat sells. Now the bolts gave up.

·
Registered
2,625 Posts
Something isn't right if you snapped grade 8 bolts off. Even the skid bolts are grade 5 stock. If there is any chance of it use a left handed bit and try to back em out with a easy out. Or if there is anything protruding you may be able to get a stud remover on it and back it out.

·
Administrator
7,932 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There 5/16th bolts, so not the biggest in the world. I may have it tapped for 3/8 ths . Would have been nice to notice this 2 weeks ago when the engine was on the work bench.
but of course that would have been way too easy.

·
Registered
2,625 Posts
Is your torque bumper adjusted properly? 5/16 is .3125 and 3/8 is .375 only 1/8 inch different from the rear skid bolts which I would imagine take waaaaaay more abuse.
Fact for ya tho the head is the usually the weakest point in a bolt so if it had a 1/4 plate that it was snugged up to you should have some threads sticking out.

·
Administrator
7,932 Posts
Discussion Starter #5