Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning, just as I finished the last of my plowing, my winch cable snapped. It broke right at the crimp that forms the loop at the end. I can't complain about the timing as I had three driveways to do and got it all done before it happened!

Now I know this is a total newbie question but I have to ask. How do I fix this? I can get the cable back out of the winch, but where do I get new crimp clamps to re-form the loop and what do I crimp it on with? Or can I use the U-bolt type cable clamps to make the connection? I was thinking they might be easier as it would make it easier to field repair this if it happens again.

·
Registered
226 Posts
I have broken a cable before. I used 3 of those small u-bolt clamps to repair the cable. I made a loop at the end, put the hook on, and put the clamps on the cable to hold it in place. Works fine. Be sure to put the clamps in the correct position so that the winch will still be able to roll back up all the way and not have the hook hanging down 5 or 6".

·
Registered
333 Posts
I've used those lots and if you break it again then it is a quick fix. Two should do you just fine but remember to put the "U" end over top of the cut end of the cable. That is how we clamp larger cables for our boom truck winch, it'll hold better that way. :beer_cheers:

·
Premium Member
19,631 Posts
I used the little U bolts with success. What I did was form the loop and cinch it down with one of the U Bolts. Then, I take the remaining "tail" and double it back and take another U Bolt and cinch it down again. Essentially, I form an "S" with the end of the cable.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
or you could upgrade to the synthetic.

·
Premium Member
19,631 Posts