Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say that I have watched this forum for a while and I am very impressed with the civil attitude that mostly prevails here. I have been sledding since 1968 and have progressed form Ski-Doos, Merc (still have a 76 440 ST), Polaris, and Cat since a 97 ZR 580. The current newer model stable consists of a 03 F7 SP and a 06 CF7 SP. I rode only the CF last year in northern WI and left the FC down south as a spare. This year,however, we had far better snow in the south (about an hour south of LaCrosse) and I did most of my riding on the old Firecat including a 400 mile solo ride to our cabin near Three Lakes. On this trip I was thinking that Cat should really still be building this sled in a limited way. My son owns a 07 F8 SP and I will not bash his sled in any way but it just does not have the light reponsive feel the old Firecats had.

My challenge to Cat is---why not build the the 440 racer with the EPA compliant 600? Cat has already scored some marketing points withRobby and Tucker on the sled but the new F sled has won nothing yet noteworthy on the track. (The only two races that really count I feel are the Red Lake 500 and the Soo but that's another story.) Polaris is building the RR so why can't Cat do the same? We would get rider forward, a chain case, the new skid frame, and less weight. If buyers wanted the big inch motors then buy a new F. The tooling exists too! Cat once brought back the old 700 motor so why not surprise us and bring back the Firecat racer!

Just my two cents.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I am not sure but I think that new race sleds have to be some type of a production sled (500 units or so) which tells me AC is coming out with a new race sled so there will be some type of a production sled like Polaris did this year. I am hearing rumors of a new sled coming out so we shall see

·
Premium Member
2,404 Posts