Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone put spacers on their wheels? I've never used spacers before and would appreciate some first-hand accounts on the good and bad before I make a decision.BONOSS

·
Registered
4,529 Posts
Yes, I used wheel spacers on my old 2001 Arctic Cat 500 with straight rear axle to run 14" Mudpro rims with 30" Mudzillas. No rubbing, but I ran 1" spacers on front and 2" spacers on back. Just use a torque wrench to properly torque the studs. Welcome to the Chat from Maine.

·
Registered
4,529 Posts
You may want to add "fender extensions" if you use wheel spacers, you can get more mud flying , if you go wider. Here is my 700 Diesel without wheel spacers showing fender extensions.

Attachments

·
Administrator
38,392 Posts
What machine do you have?
I moved this to the correct forum.

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
I ran a pair of wheel spacers for a few trips with my lift kit to eliminate rub cause by the lift. I've considered running my 1" pair on the fronts of my machine so my front/rear are the same width, currently I'm 2" wider rear than front. (50"Fx52"R)

It depends on the machine you have which effects CoG (center of gravity) the older style cats 04 and older had a high CoG because the fuel tank was mounted up high which moved weight up, the newer style 05+ have the tank mounted rear under the seat which lowers CoG. I have an older style machine 04-400 FIS so this is the view my comments are from.

The things I enjoy about my wider stance caused by my offset rims (same effect as wheel spacers):

I can do alot more high speed maneuvers, pushing my machine into slides on corners, drifting, donuts, and more stability doing off camber side-hilling rock crawling etc.