Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought this ATV earlier in the year but haven't started it since I got it home. I went start it and noticed a bit of light "smoke" coming from the area right below the cylinder head - the area that has these three little nubs. It's a 2019 with 75 hrs and 567 miles on it. I checked the coolant level and it was full.

I cleaned the area from some old caked on mud and noticed it getting moist again when I restarted it. Drove it for a couple of miles and it ran great.

The smoke didn't have much of an odor - I know what oil smells like. And to the touch, it seemed to be more water based. That's what caused me to think it was coolant/vapor, perhaps.

Should I be concerned about this? (I have zero experience with ATVs - this one is my first).

Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Bumper Rim

·
Administrator
42,454 Posts
Either your valve cover is leaking or your header gasket is.

·
Administrator
42,454 Posts
Both are cheap to buy and easy to install. Torque the valve cover to spec and evenly.

Reactions: SphinxRacing

·
Administrator
42,454 Posts
They may not use a gasket. Download a free service manual at Countrycat.com under the technical section. That way you can look it up.

Reactions: SphinxRacing

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
They may not use a gasket. Download a free service manual at Countrycat.com under the technical section. That way you can look it up.
Thanks for the link - got the FSM from that site. Yep, the RTV is at the valve cover and cylinder head. If I had to bet, I think the leak is likely there. I need to clean the spot with some brake clean (on a rag, not directly) and see what happens.

The head gasket doesn't use RTV.

·
Administrator
42,454 Posts
You wot need a head gasket.

·
Administrator
42,454 Posts
Then get a gasket (oring) for the valve cover.

Reactions: Parshath77

·
Registered
150 Posts