Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As yall should know, my 95 tcat is being turned into a strict race sled. So I obviously dont need lights or any wires associated with them. Just wondering what wires and stuff I should be taking out. I am currently studying my manual's wiring diagram also.. thanx

oh and instead of unpluggin the TSS at the bars, can i disconnect from the carbs and leave the wires out?

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
whats the ac regulator do? can i ditch it or no?

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
now that i think about it, instead of chopping my wireing harness, can i just wire up my tether,key, and tach, and call it a day, i mean what do i really need besides stator,cdi, coils, tether/key, a/c regulator?, and tach.

·
Registered
6,670 Posts
Are you running the 95 CDI? You can't just unplug the carb switches on closed ignition systems. Also, you'll need the lighting coil, including the regulator, if you want to keep the tach working.

I imagine you still want one switch to kill the engine? Behind the console it's possible to trace all switch wiring down to 2 wires that eventually go to the 4 prong connector down near the stator. What I've done is attach my key switch to these 2 wires only to eliminate the kill and tether switches. On a closed ignition this makes it the most reliable and strongest spark.

Maybe unplugging the headlight and tail light at the harnesses is the best way to keep your tach working.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #5