Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hey guys I'm new to the hobby and a guy local to me is selling these two sleds. From the photos they look like the sleds are in excellent condition.

What concerns me is the mileage. (He says it's average mileage for four strokes and they've both just been serviced and are turn key blah blah blah)

I know that (some) TWO stroke sleds usually need a top end rebuild roughly around 7,000 miles but I'm unfamiliar with 4 strokes

One is a
2010 Z1 EXT 1100 Turbo 4 stroke with
7,000 miles

And the other is a
2007 Z1 Jaguar 1000 non turbo 4 stroke with 10,000 miles

He's asking about 6,000 for both with an open trailer. (in September)

Is this to many miles? Should I run? How much longer do the sleds have in they're lifespan before they start having serious/ day ruining problems? Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10,772 Posts
4 Strokes are good for a while but it all depends on how it was maintained. These sleds are notorious for needing valve clearances checked. And if you’re not mechanically inclined and have to get someone to do it, it can be expensive. It’s not an adjustment that needs to be done, it’s different shims required to get clearances back to spec.
Any other part of the machine is basically requires the same maintenance as a two stroke.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
4 Strokes are good for a while but it all depends on how it was maintained. These sleds are notorious for needing valve clearances checked. And if you’re not mechanically inclined and have to get someone to do it, it can be expensive. It’s not an adjustment that needs to be done, it’s different shims required to get clearances back to spec.
Any other part of the machine is basically requires the same maintenance as a two stroke.