Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All:

I am new to the AC's and sledding. I have a 1979 Jag with a 340 FA... I just bought a junker/parts sled with a 340 FC. Are the motors basicaly the same (except for the oil pump on FC) if I take off all the fan crap and put FA heads on the FC?

Also: I see many new Suzuki motors have "reeds"... why dosn't the older air cooled ones like mine have them? Would it pay for me to modify my intake manifold and put on reeds?

Thanks in advance! I am still learning by tearing down the junker sled.

Finaly: If any one needs any parts of this 1979 Jag 3000 FC sled, let me know.

Sam

:beer_cheers:

·
Registered
80 Posts
if the F/A is in good shape and will run, id personally stick with It. They are both great machines, but a premix machine has less trobles to offer in the long run, although you can also always remove the oil pump and run the F/C on premix. As far as reeds, I have no clue as to whether you would gain much by putting them on an old 340 or not. I would assume the heads are likelt the same, but if your not sure, compare them, or contact someone who sells the part to inquire if the part no. is different. If its not, then you are good to go.

good luck

kurt

·
Registered
474 Posts