Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone i'm pretty new to snowmobiling caught the bug just last season, i have a 1998 zl 500 that i'm interested in installing a battery in to power some additional lights and a 12v accessory line for phone/gps charging . a friend of mine told me that the stator is not powerful enough to charge it and it will eventually die on me. just curious if its possible or if im wasting my time?

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
What lights? It all depends what your adding which you haven't told us yet. So rather than guess why don't you tell us how many amps your going to draw?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry. like I said I'm new. I dont know much about lights either. They are two small 240w lightbars. So 20amps each I think and just a USB port or a cigarette lighter to connect my cellphone up to to keep it charged. I dont know how many amps that would draw

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
Well I would say with that amp draw and the sleds charging system, your already wiped out. Couldn't find the exact output of a 98 ZL500 stator but a brand new Arctic Cat ZR puts out 270 watts, thats 22 amps. I's say your in the negative, meaning you drive it far enough your battery will be dead using just the light bar. Now you have gauge lights, a headlight and a tail light on top of that light bar. What you need are LED's, they take hardly anything. Your cell phone charger takes hardly anything

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Okay. Any suggestions on LED's? I would like to be able to cast a wider cone on the trails at night

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
Nope but there are plenty of HID and LED conversions, have to shop around the web

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
you can add the battery and the stator will charge it.
the real problem is the stator is ac voltage.
the battery and your lights you are looking at are dc voltage.
you need a rectifier.
check this thread