Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here with a quick question, I have stumbled upon on a sled down the street from me. The seller is wanting $350.00 and it is a 1990 Arctic Cat Prowler 440 with a broken Lower U joint. The seller claims it runs good, but he can not find the Lower U Joint for the front ski.

Now the question

how hard is it to find a ball joint for this sled? I have tried the site sponsors and I might have found one from cat-masters. Any where else I should look?

Is the asking price from the seller sound about right? What should the selling price be for that year and model sled?

Was the 1990 prowler 440 a good sled back in the day or was it a bucket and I should stay away from it, and find something newer with less headaches to deal with?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
504 Posts
I had a 1990 prowler 440 and I loved that sled .. no the best looking ... but a strong runner .. as to the parts i wouldnt know . But any sled that old is going to need some t/l/c

·
Registered
267 Posts
I would look at an auto parts store for the lower ball joint. If you look at the ball joints, they look like something automotive. I would bet if you took the balljoint into NAPA they could match it up.

I didn't have that sled, but I had Panteras with the same front end. The sleds darted really bad until I set them up with Bergstrom skegs with ski savers. Night and day better

Good Luck.

·
Registered
524 Posts
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Magic Carpet Ride @ Dec 22 2009, 03:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
Very little issues with the 90 Prowler. I bought mine new back in 90 and still have it. My son rides it now. 8,000 miles and still ticking. Cat happy[/b]
X2 Have the same sled and both my kids have learn to ride on it. Are Prowler has almost 9000 on it, and starts everytime.

·
Registered
139 Posts