Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading March's issue of SnowGoer on Arctic Cat's motors and read something interesting about oil consumption. I'm not trying to argue with anyone, because I'm new to this, I just want to get your guys opinion.

Excerpt from SnowGoer March Issue, Page 24-25

"If the owner of one of these new, clean two-strokes was to measure the volume of oil used from the injector tank to the gasoline used, that woner might surmise that the oil delivery rate was too high. That would be an error in thinking."

"About the same amount of oil is being used to lubricate the engine as in earlier engines but the amount of gasoline being used has decreased considerably. The higher combustion chamber temperatures and lower operating RPM of these new engines allows for more complete combustion of the oil as well. The oil is simply used more completely as a fuel as well as a lubricant."

What do you guys think? I do think my sled runs fuel rich when I'm running low rpms, it tends to load up a little towards the end of the day. However it seems to clean itself out if I run it up for a little bit if I run a few hills or blast down the trail.

·
Registered
525 Posts
"Same amount of oil...as in earlier engines" my ass. This is an error in thinking. If I go through a quart of oil in 80 miles, that is not anywhere near what any of my "earlier engines" burned and is no where near what it should be given the same approximate gas mileage. I verify the correct amount of oil by doing four checks.

1. Verify the ratio of consumption
2. "Seat of the pants" feel of how the motor is running (i.e. loaded up, missing, gobs of black smoke on takeoff)
3. Spark plug evaluation
4. How much black crap is building up on the belly and tunnel and my boots.