Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just traded a 2005 Yamaha Vector and bought a 2007 f-6 Artic Cat

Yamaha guys please dont kill me we still have 4 more yamahas in the garage
I just wanted a 2 stroke to play with and really loved the look and features of the f-6

Anyways I need a few questions answered(I am brand new to this 2 stroke deal)

The dealer recomended artic cat oil APV syn.Is this the way to go?
Are there any links to Artic Cat dealers that sell add ons for the Artic Cats?

The book is vague on breaking in the 2 strokes any thoughts on the best way to break them in?

Any Idea where I could buy a service manual online for the F-7?

Is there anything I should watch out for?

Thanks for any help......

·
Premium Member
558 Posts
Welcome to the world of Cats.

I also have a 07 f6 LXR and really like the sled, there has been a few issues in the cornering department that I have noticed and the best thing to do regarding this is to replace the crappy offset carbides that come on the sled.
Some have run true Dooley’s, while others (including myself) switched to single shaper bars, now the sled rails through the corners.

Generally from what I have read the 6 seems to have the fewest issues, whereas the big iron 800's and 1000's have seemed to have more issues.

Check as many fasteners as you can, as many have reported finding bolts missing or loose, fortunately my dealer must have done a great job doing that as of 600 miles on mine and nothing loose yet.

Arctic apv oil is what I run in the Cat, once the machine is broke in then I suppose I could switch as I run Klotz in our Doo.

Break in should be extra apv oil mixed in the first tank, when riding try to not maintain one speed, try to constantly vary your rpm, occasional wide open throttle bursts are allowed but sustained full throttle under break in is to be avoided.