Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I had a motor blow in my 02 zr 600 (carb) bad enough to where I won’t be able to fix it. The thing was in perfect shape and always kept clean. I also have a 2000 zr 600 (carb as well) that has a really beat up chassis and everything cosmetic really. Still runs good tho. Is it possible to swap the motor from the 2000 into the 2002 chassis without any major headaches? And are the clutches swapable either? I just rebuild the 02’s clutches as well. All responses greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,502 Posts
I've never done this swap before. However in comparing the parts fiche between the 2000 motor and the 2002 motor, the only difference I see is the 2002 motor has power valves, whereas the 2000 motor does not. However, the motor mounts are identical, which means the 2000 will mount up. But if you put the 2000 motor in the 2002 chassis, I would use the 2000 CDI, as its programmed to run without the power valves

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Okay, I was gonna mention that I was just going to unplug the apv valves because I did know of this, never thought about switching out the CDI box tho. Might give that a shot. Where exactly is the cdi on this model?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Okay, so it’s called a CDI on a carbureted model and called a ECU on an efi model?

·
Registered
1,502 Posts
Okay, so it’s called a CDI on a carbureted model and called a ECU on an efi model?
Yep, exactly.
The timing curve programmed in the 2002 CDI would have been done with the power valves incorporated into the equation. Not sure if that would work so well with the non-power valved engine. Best to use the 2000 CDI.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #8