Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to arctic cat and my 06 m7 seems to be really drinking the oil and i've heard this before. i was wondering if i can get some details on how to adjust it and how do i calculate the ratio and stuff?

·
Registered
71 Posts
To calculate oil usage you fill your gas tank full as well as your oil reservoir and mark the fill level of the reservoir with a sharpie. Ride your sled for a normal day. Measure the amount of gas you need to refill your tank as well as the ounces of oil to fill the reservoir.

gallons gas used x 128 oz/gallon / ounces of oil = oil use ratio.

Most agree that 40:1 is about as lean as is likely safe for a wide range of conditions and many run a bit richer than that to be safe.

To change the oil use you can lengthen (lean) or shorten (richen) the oil pump connecting rod that is down by the throttle bodies in front of the engine. I believe one turn = about 8:1 change in consumption (don't hold me to that). If you do a search there is a thread that has great instructions and even some photos on how/where to do this.

To be safe, calculate original oil use. Adjust 1 turn, calculate again, adjust if needed, etc.

MT800mc

·
Registered
795 Posts
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (MT800mc @ Feb 28 2007, 09:18 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
To calculate oil usage you fill your gas tank full as well as your oil reservoir and mark the fill level of the reservoir with a sharpie. Ride your sled for a normal day. Measure the amount of gas you need to refill your tank as well as the ounces of oil to fill the reservoir.

Most agree that 40:1 is about as lean as is likely safe for a wide range of conditions and many run a bit richer than that to be safe.