Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. My Name is Michael and I'm a little new to the snowmobile community. I was recently gifted with a 98 ZR 500 and there are a few things that could use some work. #1 - there is a rattling noise coming from the clutch area, very very faint when idling but as the throttle is pushed it gets louder till about 6000 rpm and stops. #2 - Blue smoke from the exhaust about 60% of the time when riding. #3 - Speedometer doesn't work. #4 - Sometimes it has a slight lag from 5000 rpm till a little over 6000 rpm. It doesn't do it all the time though. #5 - Is it normal for the rpms to get between 4000-4500 before the clutch engages or could that be related to the previously mentioned clutch problem? Thank you for any and all help!

·
Administrator
37,494 Posts
I will move this to the ZR forum for you.

·
Registered
547 Posts
Hello. My Name is Michael and I'm a little new to the snowmobile community. I was recently gifted with a 98 ZR 500 and there are a few things that could use some work. #1 - there is a rattling noise coming from the clutch area, very very faint when idling but as the throttle is pushed it gets louder till about 6000 rpm and stops. #2 - Blue smoke from the exhaust about 60% of the time when riding. #3 - Speedometer doesn't work. #4 - Sometimes it has a slight lag from 5000 rpm till a little over 6000 rpm. It doesn't do it all the time though. #5 - Is it normal for the rpms to get between 4000-4500 before the clutch engages or could that be related to the previously mentioned clutch problem? Thank you for any and all help!
1. You'll want to pull the clutches and go thru them completely and clean and inspect them for damage and wear, that's when you will see if anything needs replacing.
2. Blue smoke is normal, it's a 2 stroke engine and these aren't very efficient.