Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I bought a 2010 arctic cat 550 h1 efi trv and when I start to slow down it makes this noise like it backfires a bit what could be the problem I'm new to owning an atv

·
Administrator
19,995 Posts
Lean condition causes this. Being it’s efi, it could be difficult for you to track down. Possibly just the mapping of the ecu?

Knowing how lean some Cats are from the factory, it wouldn’t surprise me if that were the issue (mapping). Maybe being assisted even further by a leaky intake boot, or maybe a leaky exhaust joint between headpipe and muffler (sucking in air)?

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
My 700 Cat will backfire once in a while when using engine braking. I've never found anything out of place or leaking, After putting a snorkel on, it seems a bit worse. I suspect the factory efi mapping is set a wee bit lean for "emissions". C-note hit it right on the head, I believe.

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
What do you mean if it's not efi. My machine is a 550 h1 efi trv
sorry I had a brain fart there??

another thing I have seen is when folks run a lot of ethanol fuel and atv sits a lot, this happens to a lot of atv's (all brands) at my hunting camp, where 10-12 atv's site 5-7 months out of the yr
all the guys running ethanol , there atv's backfire often, guys that ONLY use ethanol or run atv often, don;t seem to have issue's
so, I also thing its a fuel issue
from either just the fuel running, or how ethanol fuel builds crap varnish like coatings on things over time

so, could be a fuel flow issue's too due to something being some what blocked up ,
maybe try running some sea foam or like treatment(not than magic in a can fixing all things)
but it might help some here if its mild issue and can clean/free things up for you?
before going deeper into things!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #9