Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this I just bought a 2003 ac 500 automatic I got it home and I went for a ride with my son on his stock Polaris scrambler 500 4X4 and I can't stay anywhere near him The speedo reads 45 at top end My question is Is that normal and if so is there any cheap mods I can do to make it run some what comparible to the scrambler Any help will be greatly appreciated P.S. I'm not looking for it to be a speed demon I just thought it should run faster than 45 Thank You for any input

·
Premium Member
8,170 Posts
probably needs a new belt by the sounds of it...clean airfilter and clean the carb too.

Keeping up with a scrambler...ahhh i dunno its a lighter sportier bike. Yes it should do more then 45 my buddies 06 would do 60+mph

·
Registered
435 Posts
I just got rid of a scrambler 500 and let me tell you there quick for what they are. Dont expect to out preform him with the Arctic Cat. My top end on my scrambler was faster then the Can Am 800 XMR if that helps.
I think your machine should hit 45MPH though. You can always get a jet kit and get a aftermarket pipe to help you out a little more.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies I will check the air filter and get a new belt and go from there. I think it may have been a bad cable because it broke on Sunday after a couple hours of pulling the kids on a sled in the snow. Thanks again

·
Registered
391 Posts
So the bike is stock? No modes, like a clutch kit? If so clutch kit will make you lose top end.

Sent from my MB865 using Tapatalk 2

·
Administrator
8,015 Posts
My 03 500 manual tranny would hit 60 no problem, my buddies still has his 04 500 manual and his hits 60 also.
Belt time, air filter, valve adjustment .ect..
those 500's really responded well to the muffler mod with a dyno jet kit. it really wakes them up.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·