Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:trail: LOOKING FOR INPUT ON A NEW SLED FOR A BEGINNER. I HAVE LITTLE EXPERIENCE ON A SLED. I AM LOOKING AT A ARCTIC CAT F570 OR A ARCTIC CAT F6LXR. WHICH SLED WOULD YOU GUYS AND GALS THINK WOULD BE BETTER FOR ME. THANK YOU. TSC :site:

·
Premium Member
8,589 Posts
Either one one of them is a good choice. But its like I tell my kids and the kids in our safety classes it will only go as fast as you make it and the rest will come with experience.

·
Premium Member
2,404 Posts
What about the F5 ? The 570 has 70hp, the 500 has 80, and the 600 has 118. The 570 has electric start, MANUAL shift reverse (oddly enough), but no IRP (adjustable seat and bars) whereas the F5 lxr would give you a liquid cooled motor, the push button reverse, the IRP and be less expensive than going to the 600.
Just another option to consider I guess.
I'm trying to make that descision myslef for our son.....f570 or f5lxr. I can get a leftover 07 F5lxr for $6k plus tax ($6600 for a 08), or order a 08 F570 for $5700 plus tax. Basically the same money......the best price I've found on a 07 F6lxr was $7200 plus tax ($7600 for 08) so enough more to make a difference.....

·
Registered
155 Posts
I would go with an F5XLR. Less maintenance with the EFI. That in itself is worth the extra for the F5 - believe me - and I don't think anyone would disagree on that point. Also probably quieter and easier on fuel. I did not look at the engine on the F570 at the show but I can only imagine it being very difficult to get to the carbs of the F570 based on how packed in things are on the twin spar chassis

Another factor to consider is that you don't want to put your money down on something and be bored with it and think "gee I should of" We have all been there.