Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone need some advice before i start throwing money around. Looking at buying a D&D Y-Pipe for my 2006 XFire 700 and already have a Speedwerx single pipe with a MBRP can. I have done no fuel adjustments yet and do have the speedwerx clutch kit. Can i throw on the Y-Pipe without having to buy a boondocker control box? Don't have the money for the control box right now. Any advice is appreciated, Thanks!

·
Registered
136 Posts
I am not an expert but I have read lately a lot of posts on this topic. From what I have learned ya, your going to have to bite the bullet on the Boondocker. You may want to check a bit more on this site. Hope that helps. What elevation do you most sled at? That has a lot to do with it also.

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
You will not need a controller with the Speedwerx pipe on a 600/700 sled.

The y-pipe and can should not need one either. The only reason you may need one is to clear up the bog or hesitation created by the can @ 4500-5000 rpm.

On top of that if you are adding the y-pipe to add hp save your $$$$ a y-pipe does nothing on the 600/700 cc engines.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is there a reason the Y-Pipe doesn't add any power on the 600/700 motors? But if the Boondocker is the only way to make big power then ill just buy the boondocker and leave the stock Y-Pipe. If anyone has any input on making more power I would deffinetly appreciate the advice. Thanks for all the advice so far!

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
You can do alot of mods on the 700's with out needing a controller.

Spx single pipe
clutch kit
intake
timing key
sleeper head kit
ported cyls

Just need to run premium 91 + octane fuel.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7