Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
on a 79 tigre i've been working on I recently got new seals and was curious of the proper way to install them

I plan on not splitting the case and just tapping the new ones in with a large socket but my main ?? is if I should be using any sealant between the case and the seal

I have never tried this before any tips or advice as always is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
553 Posts
i never replaced crank seals this way, but i think i read on here that you can do this.
not sure if silicone is needed, i split my crank when i changed mine, didn't use any.

the new seals do come with a rubber coating on the outside, so i wouldn't think you need any.

·
Registered
325 Posts
I wouldn't go that route, you can split the bottom halves of the case easily and replace a seal the proper way. Prying out the old one risks damaging sealing surfaces on the case and tapping a new one in is NOT a good idea, that has all sorts of bad thoughts pouring through my mind, warping the seal, distorting it, bending it, crushing, etc. Better to do it the right way, split the case, pull old seals off, put new ones on, reseal case with threebond.

·
Registered
553 Posts
isn't there a centre seal or o-ring on most cranks that should be replaced too?
i know on my cougar there was a o-ring next to the gear for the oil pump, i had to stretch the o-ring over one rod to get it in place, fairly easy but ya need to split the case.

i would buy a complete gasket set and do it all at once.

·
Registered
1,473 Posts