Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought my first sled after a couple year hiatus. I'm semi-knowledgeable about sleds, but by no means an expert. A friend recommended this site and says there's some really knowledgeable people to help me out. I finally got the sled in the garage to go over it and do the pre-season checks. I think there's something wrong with the primary clutch. First off, it seems like the belt is too tight, but I'm not sure. Secondly, when I put it up on the jackstand, as soon as I started it, the track started spinning. I'm assuming that the primary isn't opening all the way, but I have no experience on clutches whatsover, so it's just a guess. Anybody know what's causing this? And where to go from here? I don't even know how to pull the dang clutch off this thing. Any help (newbie friendly) would be appreciated. I'm sure I'll be spending a lot of time on this site from now on :D

·
5,963 Posts
Could be the clutch but I would say its the carbs.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Oh, sorry guys. It's an 04 f7 and it's an efi. My buddy told me I would get more responses if I posted in the zr area with a generic question like clutches.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you for the welcome. We just started my buddies' and his track doesn't spin upon start up. It looks like he has a little space on his between the belt and primary, and on mine, the belt appears to be touching on both sides.

·
Registered
246 Posts