Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok i am new to the snowmobile engines thing but i am good with engines in general, this one has me stumped though. I am an ASE mastertech in the automotive field so i have a good understanding of how everything is working.

I Bought the 1979 Pantera with the spirit 5000 a few days ago for $300 and the guy reved it up for me so i thought it runs, i can take it from there. When i got it home i started it and the first time that i hit the throttle it look off like crazy, but as soon as i let it go back to an idle and hit it again it would bogg, cant even go above 15mph. Then if i let it come to a idle it dies and is imposible to start. If i shut it off for about ten minutes and then go back and try again it runs great for the first full throttle then dies again.

First step i took is new gas, ... No different

Then i cleaned the carb and adjusted, if i went too lean it would backfire, too rich and it would eventually flood when i let out of the throttle. I adjusted idle screw, air screw on air cleaner side of carb, float level and i noticed that it ran a little better lean but i still have the same problem.

The next step i took was to eliminate all of the electronics on the sled, i disconected all switches, hand warmers and jumped brown and black wire from stator...... still the same problem.

I also got a brand new coil and threw it on just for kicks because a local store had one for 30 bucks.

I will be bringing spark and compression testers home from work tomorow to test it out but i was wondering if there was anything else that i could look for or any ideas you guys have.

One thing is that there is no battery in the sled, i dont think this should make a difference but what do you guys think?

·
Registered
1,473 Posts