Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my wife an 07 F5LXR, with no snow I got it in the garage and started looking it over. What is the deal with the beltguard? What is the proper removal method for this? Do you pull the tab in the lower front and turn it then slide it toward the rear of the sled to unhook the rear latch? I didnt want to do to much prying before I asked you guys. Im new to Cat but so far the fit and finish isnt very impressive.
I got the light pod assem off without losing the spacers(they stayed in place) but someone mentioned glueing them in. What type of glue should I use? I was wondering if I could "thread" an o-ring on after the spacer and bolt are in place to keep the spacer from coming out.
Thanks for the help

·
Registered
2,649 Posts
I used super glue on the sleeves, spacer, whatever you call it. As for the belt guard mine was tight and once I got it off I took a grinder to the posts and made them half the size, now it holds but is easy to get on and off.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
gonna try the glue, could only imagine trying to do that on the trail an 5 degrees with wind blowing and dark bang your head I pried on the front clip with a screwdriver and the guard came off, Im gonna try grinding the nubs.
Thanks,
Craig

·
Registered
236 Posts
Monkers: That belt guard is a real piece of engineering genius, isn't it? Pull on the outside tab and get the inside pin out first. Then twist the cover and pull up to get the outside pin out. Once off, get a pair of vise grips on the tabs and loosen them up a bit. A touch of grease doesn't hurt either. Grinding the pins will definitely help, but I was afraid of having a rattle afterwards. It's just a bad design.