Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to have a battery problem. A new batterie last less than 2 years, measured 1.4 volts. So I decided to troubleshoot the electrical system since I am an electrical technician in a paper mill.

I bought a new battery.
MOTOMASTER ELIMINATOR AGM Factory-Activated Powersports Battery, ETX20L

Voltage at 12.5 volts. Then I check the current when off. No current was drawn.

Switch the light on low: draws current from the battery, about 1-2 and on high 2-3 amps.

Started the ATV with no lights at idle still drawing a bit of current, with the lights on, more.

If I rev to around 3000 rpm then it starts charging the battery at 3-4 amps.

In any circumstance if you use the winch, it will draw current from the battery.

So the magneto can't give more than 3-4 amps at higher rpm.

In my case anyway.

·
Premium Member
2,206 Posts
from when i owned mine the charging system is very poor on these things. Always had to come home and plug it into a maintainer to top up the battery especially if i used the winch

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
from when i owned mine the charging system is very poor on these things. Always had to come home and plug it into a maintainer to top up the battery especially if i used the winch
A magneto doesn't deliver a lot of amps but it matches the battery which should be charged with low amps. When I checked the amps potential of the magneto, I realized that even installing a car type battery wouldn't really solve the situation. It would still charge at low amps. I'm thinking of installing a voltage meter in the front to monitor what is going on.

·
Administrator
40,392 Posts