Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi y’all,

I have a 95 Puma AFS. It’s been a great sled for me. I pull my ice fishing shack on and off the lake with it (Approx 500lbs). However, I’m still new to snowmobiles…I’ve noticed that when I try to haul my shack the drive belt is slipping. Also sometimes when I have a passenger on and also pulling my fishing sleigh the belt slips on uphill slopes.

What can I do to help it haul more without slipping?

• Change springs/weights in primary clutch?
  • Change drive gear in chain case?

I’m trying to find as cheap a solution as I can. She’s an old sled, but runs good. I’d like to run her for another season Or more. Top end speed not a big issue for me…just need a reliable sled that can pull 500lbs or so.

I should also note that before I bought it, the 340 Engine was replaced with a 440 F/C from a 91 Jag. Engine runs strong.

Thanks for any help you can provide. Have added some pics as well.

Attachments

·
Registered
12,565 Posts
Which belt and drive clutch are you running? Belt could be slightly longer giving you slippage.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Start with the maintenance items, then move on to air flow and cooling. After that, then consider the mechanical alterations.

Primary clutch weights, rollers and bushings in good shape and everything moving freely without excessive slop. Secondary bushings in good shape and not sticky. Check clutch alignment. Clean sheaves with scotch-bite/water and then a de-greaser. If either clutch needs a lot of work/money then consider the Bearcat clutch option at the bottom of this list.

Check for proper belt deflection and sheave clearance. Clean the belt with hot soapy water.

Check for excess drag in the drive system: Dragging brakes, worn drive shaft and jackshaft bearings, excessively tight track, worn hifax, seized idler wheels, etc.