Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to snowmobiles and recently purchased a 1995 Arctic Cat Cougar 550. I live in the mountains of Alberta at about 4500 feet elevation. The sled runs very well at this altitude, but I tried going higher and at about 5500 feet the engine bogged down. I (foolishly) tried to adjust the thumb screw on the side of each carburator thinking that it was just getting too much gas with the thinner atmosphere. This didn't seem to help much so I went back down the mountain. I will usually operate the sled at around 4500 to 5000 feet, but will sometimes go as high as 7000 feet or so.

I'm wondering if someone could tell me how to reset the screws I messed with to get them back to the correct (before I messed with it!) setting. Also, any advice on how to adjust the carb to handle the higher elevations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,097 Posts