Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I am new to arctic chat but have been around old cats for a long time I have a few 79-81 5000 fa eltigres, I prefer them for there power to weight and simplicity, I appologise to the cat purists who cringe when they see what I have done to my vintage cats as they are slightly modified here is a pic of the latest one still needs paint I have all decals just cant paint until the off season. It has a 136" x 15" x 1.5" track, reverser chain case 40" ski stance upgraded clutches, It is a blast. It is swift runs 50mph in the snow and 85 on hard pack, nothing to be ashamed of for sure. But I have had this sled for years and have no idea of the hour or abuse that this ones engine has endured so I am planning on building an engine for it and Would like to speak with other fa piston port owners or engine builders who have experience with these motors I have a lot of high performance engine building experience but most of my experience relates to 4 strokes so any insite into how to make these things run would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have a good running 79. I had the crank pins welded and left the motor stock. It has Aaeen twin & pipes 38s. The best performance gain I did was from a late model A/C roller driven clutch.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi, I was starting to wonder if I was the only free air eltigre guy who is looking for performance improvements, I am curious about the pipes and bigger carbs did you notice much improvement? How did it react to the improved flow and how did it effect the power band, I assume better top end but did it kill some of the low end torque?

·
Registered
9 Posts