Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My trusty old '99 300 developed a problem which I believe is internal to the front differential. There are no noises or problems when it's driven in 2WD.

However, when the 4WD lever is engaged, a loud "clunk" occurs every few feet the atv is driven. I have no knowledge of how the differential works, yet from looking at the parts fiche, I am initially suspecting the shift cam stopper or the shift lock cam (circled below). It feels / sounds like whatever engages the front diff is slipping (clunk sound) in/out of engagement.

Is what I'm describing a common problem with these old machines? Is there something I can try without removing/rebuilding/replacing the front differential housing? Can I tighten the bolt #10 or replace the spring #11 to keep the diff locked (assuming, perhaps wrongly, that's where the noise is coming from)?

I just "upgraded" to a slightly newer machine and was going to sell my '99. It's tough to sell with a noise like this. :-(

Help?

Attachments

·
Registered
10,845 Posts
It could be that there is wear on the parts enough to not keep diff locked. The diff lock cam would be my guess that it’s worn more. If you take bolt #10 out you could remove the spring and the cam stopper. Trouble is, what’s a good one look like? Spring could be broken but as far as length and tension, what is a good one like? Have you adjusted cable used to lock diff?

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks 660. I will remove bolt #10 and see what I see. I am wondering if something could be inserted between the bolt and spring (like a washer) to apply greater force on the pin and cam, as a means to give it a little extra life.