Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, i am new to cats but certainly not new to the vintage sled world. I am getting a Lynx all fixed up this summer for my 9 year old son. Just wondering if someone has the jetting specs along with carb size for these little 292's. I have never done a mik conversion on a single and have heard stories about the fuel foaming in the float bowl due to the vibration, but I know guys run them in the one lung races up here with no problems. Any help on this? I was thinking about a VM-30???

Thanks, Richard

·
Registered
495 Posts
_F111: I tried a 32 on my 74 292 Lynx but could never get it to run long enough to get an accurate reading.My problem was the carb intake adapter would split or crack after a short ride.I tried original Cat,Polaris and aftermarket ones and they all did the same thing.I never tried a brace up to the carb from below to help with the vibration problem though.I did check all my motor mounts and they were all good.I now have a 36mm Mikuni diaphram butterfly carb thats works perfect.Bolts on like a Tilotson so no worries about rubber mounts.It uses the plunger type choke just like the float Mic's.I purchased it on E-Bay very cheap.It was NOS.The only # thats on it is X3.I wish I could find a few more of them but have had no luck even finding literature on these.I would think a 30mm is a bit small for the 292.Thats a pretty big piston in there!!!! :lol: Doug

·
Registered
642 Posts