Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning All,

I am new to Arctic Chat. As a newbee I was on a 50 mile ride on the weekend. Upon cleaning the TRV I noticed that the outer spring was rubbing on the actual shock Housing (Front Shocks Only). The right side was the worst but the left had a small amount of wear as well. They were set at the highest setting. I have since lowered them to the lowest setting.

What could be causing this? Has any one had a similar experience? If so what was the fix? Or should I just have them replaced under warranty?

Thanks for your help guys.

·
Registered
434 Posts
Mine has rubbed occasionally and I can see the markings on the shocks body. To me it is really a cosmetic thing and will not really effect the bike. Now it is pretty clear mine are not always rubbing, just some of the time. So if yours looks like the spring is constantly on the shock body it might be something to let ac look into

·
Registered
1,814 Posts
Welcome to that board!! welcome call Good to see another TRV'er here.
I've not noticed that on mine, but I didn't look that close today when my head was in there. I'll take a look tomorrow and get back to ya, although as long as it isn't wearing so much that it puts a hole in it, I don't think you'd have to worry too much about it. Could be wrong though.
JD

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the feedback. The wear is what I would call extreme on the right shock body. When they are at there highest adjustment; it appears the outer spring is two close to the shock body. Since I lowered it the spring has moved further away from the shock body. This gives it more clearance.

Basically if I leave them at max adjustment it will result in the wear through of the shock body itself. I will try to post some pics of what I am talking about tonight.

·
Premium Member
15,413 Posts
heath1967, welcome call to ArcticChat! :chug: