Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. Bought my used 04 400 4X4 Automatic in early April 2020... changed oil/ cleaned air filter, topped off oil in differentials. I have been using it for some pasture spraying for past 2 months. Have a 12 V sprayer direct wired which I unplug when not in use.
Has always started without fail. Never any issues, except I've noticed that it runs warm, but still never died or anything. Have researched fan diode/ temp switch and planned to check into that due to it running warm and fan never kicking on. Never get a temp light.... but maybe that is just plain not working.

Anyway, used for 8 hours Friday...several breaks..throughout the day... started when needed all day long.... again no issues.... except legs getting warm (no temp light)... pulled into the yard at end of day and cut it off because neighbor pulled in to chat..... went to start it to pull into shed.... nothing.... No neutral light, no crank. I have headlights, I have winch operation. I did notice that it was really hot..... Checked the kill switch, tried with hand / foot break depressed, shifted a few gears and back to neutral..... still no crank. Tried the manual pull start till blue in the face... nothing. Figured it had overheated and It needed a good couple hours to cool off. Didn't have time to troubleshoot, just pushed it into the shed.
Have used for similar amount of time most every weekend that I go out spraying - 6-8 hours on warm days with no issues. Friday was one of the cooler days.

Went back to check on it yesterday (on my farm place a ways from me)..... same... headlights, winch, sprayer good to go. Nothing else has changed - no N, H, L lights on panel , no crank, wont start manually either.