Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I rebuilt these carbs; I'm not an expert at them but I've done my fair share of carbs, new gaskets, new jets, etc. New throttle cable as well.

Sled only has 2600 miles, good compression.

Here is what I am experiencing: It has a high idle (2500ish), so I flap the choke lever and it settles back down, and I've read this is normal.

Off the line: Nothing. Does NOT really do much of a burnout, shoots a little pile sometimes but often times just... starts walking away, a few seconds later the acceleration really kicks in and at higher RPMs she rips pretty good (hits 75mph no problem and still pulls).

But... off the line, it's just embarassing. Pretty sure a well setup 370 would smoke this thing off the line.

What should I check?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Idle should stumble when flipping the choke if the engine has warmed up. Carb slides synced after the cable replacement? Choke cable routed properly? Choke plungers closing all the way/choke cable freeplay? Reeds chipped or broken?

What does the clutch engage at? Broken Primary or Secondary spring? Correct belt? Wore out/glazed belt? Correct belt deflection? Is the secondary sticky and not closing all the way when coming to a stop? Brakes dragging?

That is the easy/free/cheap stuff to check.

Need to figure out if your problem is engine/carb or clutching/belt related.

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
- If it's warm and I flip choke it will stumble and eventually die. If I flip it on for a few seconds it makes the idle more like 800rpm instead of 3000.

- Carbs are connected so idk how they'd get out of sync?

- I believe cables are routed properly, do you have a pic of correct routing so I can confirm?

- Not sure what you mean by choke plungers but I set up the choke cable to spec form the factory manual

- I don't think this model has reeds. The carbs go straight into the cylinders.