Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all new here second post. Im new to ATV world have been a sled and motocycle guy for years but new to ATV. Just bought a 2000 Arctic Cat 500 4x4 auto. Did my normal start up maintenance checks and before I open belt housing up to place a new belt on I wondered if I have other issues due to a noise I hear.

Its a 2000 with 1050 miles on it. It is in good shape appears to have been well taken care of. Everything works on it, oil is good. I bought new oil filter plug and a belt to start the season just to ensure all that potential stuff is working good whether it needed it or not.

Problem I took for test ride all fine but a slight noise from belt housing at idle and as I start to move. it is a kind of a small winne not a metal on metal squeak but a subtle rubbing and does not sound like a rubber belt. Could it be a thrust bearing? or just corrosion built up on clutch disks? Im wondering if it is a bearing starting to go.

I plan on opening up case and replacing belt not that it appears it needs it just to do so I know I have a fresh one for me. When I open it up while im there if it is potentially a bearing I may as well do it while im in I figure. Any thoughts on the origin of a winne at neutral and louder and faster as you accelerate?

·
Registered
656 Posts
The belt drive by nature does whine. You may be experiencing something completely normal. Hard to say without hearing it.
As for the belt, at 1000 miles I wouldn't waste money on a belt unless I was suspicious that it had been slipped frequently in the past. I just changed the one on my 06 at 7000 miles.
As you can see, it is barely worn at all.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,170 Posts
The belt drive by nature does whine. You may be experiencing something completely normal. Hard to say without hearing it.