Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New member here. Making an attempt to change the clutch after adjustments failed. I’m no atv mechanic but trying to learn.

I’m sure I’ll be back with more questions but for starters: Does anyone know how this stud is removed? Pretty sure the cover isn’t going back on with it in place. I assumed it was threaded but won’t budge. The service manual just says remove it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Finally got the stud to come out. Rebuilt the secondary clutch, put it all back together, and the same problem exists. The primary clutch looked to be in good condition, better than the used units on ebay.

Anyone know of another issue that might mimic a slipping clutch? I remember reading about some shift cable and fork issues but can’t find the info now.

·
Registered
33 Posts
This thread might be old, but you may find it helpful with your clutch concern.

·
Administrator
37,319 Posts
Is this a manual or auto ?

·
Administrator
37,319 Posts
So when you say primary , do you mean the starter clutch? Secondary are you referring to the clutch packs ?

·
Registered
10,512 Posts
Did you try adjust it after the new clutch pack install?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Did you try adjust it after the new clutch pack install?
Yes. The story of how this started is, it was running though all gears but if I got into the throttle you could feel it slipping and no acceleration. I then adjusted the clutch (which I had done successfully a couple years prior) and lost everything, it just catches a little in 1st.

That led me to believe it needed a new clutch pack. I now have the same thing with the new clutch pack, barely moves only in 1st.