Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
going to look at this machine on Saturday. I am fairly new to ATVs.
apparently it has been exposed to the elements for a number of years - I have no idea of its condition - may not be salvageable.
owner to look for key - it's a one owner - will take tools/battery to his place on Saturday
what are a few things y'all would recommend I inspect before purchase?
any advice is appreciated - and glad there's a community available

·
Registered
52 Posts
I would inspect all fluids for contamination and dirt. For what we know the gasoline is the first to foul, brake fluid can adsorb moister overtime, check oils for water and dirt that may of seeped in. I would also check the rubber lines and hoses for cracks for it can cause a leakage. Not to forget the belt could be in need for a replacement if neglected for a long time, just check for wear, cracks, uneven wear etc...

In my opinion I would do a complete fluid flush onsite before even starting it to insure that all the old fluid is replaced with new fluid for who knows how long the original fluid has been there and if it is even good.

I would also check various nook and crannies for nests and vermin damage that could be done from mice, chipmunks and other rodents that could of been living in the machine. This could include wires, a common spot to find nests are in the air box.

I would also check for leaks underneath the ATV for leaks coming from the engine or diffs. It could just be a leak from an improperly sealed drain plug. Or it could be worse, it could be a brittle gasket that has dissolved and broken apart and letting fluid pass through.

In the end, I wish you good luck.

·
Registered
39 Posts