Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my 1997 arctic cat zl is still bogging low end after cleaning the carbs and changing the coil and the spark plugs. I was told it could be theCDI box, or what else could be the problem? Does anyone know how much these CDI boxes cost? Also, I'm not sure if it's a ZR or a ZL engine in my sled. The body is a ZL with a ZR hood, and I'm pretty sure the engine was changed from the ZL to the ZR and all the clutches were changed too. How would I tell what engine it has in it? It engages at 5500 RPM if that helps. I think it has a clutch kit in it?! How would I find out if it does? Because if it doesn't I'm going to buy one from D&D. And, does anyone know where I can get a can for the exhaust? Do they even exist? Sorry, I'm not a mechanic at all. Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
515 Posts
If it's running it wont be a cdi problem. When you cleaned the carbs did you remove the jets and make sure hole was not plugged? I always gently push a fine piece of wire through hole. Often hole is slightly plugged making a lot smaller than it's suppose to be. Also check that your choke seat all the way down and are not sticking.

·
Registered
523 Posts
Well the ZR engine (if you are talking about a 97 ZR 440 engine), the most noticeable thing would be case reed induction. The ZL engine is cylinder reed design meaning the carbs are mounted on the cylinders themselves. The ZR, being Case Reed inducted, has the carbs mounted down leading into the crankcase.

Also the ZR had a different airbox setup, the style that all machines took with the toolbox built in up top.

Judging by your engagement RPMs of 5500, it sounds like it has the ZR engine and clutch set up. The ZR engages stock at about 5 grand, alot of people clutch them to engage around 5500 to give them a bit more punch off the line. The ZL would have a considerably lower engagement speed, probably in the high 3000 RPM range.