Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My z440 fan cooled has started knocking after riding it today. This is my first time posting for help. [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQxxMqZqc_s9] I made a video for it its really bad at lower rpms. I'm not sure if its the crank. Pistons looked really good for 6600 miles on it. Any help would be appreciated on what it could be.

·
Banned
308 Posts
I hate that don't you... those usually cost you big $$$. Can be some spectacular footage when it blows if caught on video though. Methanol motor explosions seem to provide the most breathtaking action for me... especially one of my own.

First thing I would suspect is something in the primary clutch has/is coming apart. But from here its not my call. Should be pretty easy to find though, with all that racket going on.

Have a great holiday regardless,

·
Registered
9,742 Posts

·
Registered
9,742 Posts
When you looked at pistons did you look at all of the piston or just the tops? That's a lot of miles for a piston in that motor I would think. You may have a cracked piston skirt. May also be a clutch. Turn it by hand and see if you can locate any noises.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
When you looked at pistons did you look at all of the piston or just the tops? That's a lot of miles for a piston in that motor I would think. You may have a cracked piston skirt. May also be a clutch. Turn it by hand and see if you can locate any noises.
. I looked at tops. Lot of carbon other then that I didn't take off or look more then that. I did spin the clutch and there is play where It connect to crankshaft, also a metallic scratching noise. I looked on cylinder walls nothing wrong or anything I'll probably look closer soon in shop. Maybe a crankshaft bearing?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6