Arctic Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have been reading online from many different sites and youtube and i was looking for a clear answer.
i have a 2002 zrt 600 triple. i want to add a 12v female cig input to charge phone in emergency's and possibly get a heated helmet face shield.
so digging under the hood last night near the techometer was a cube shape that looks like sae connector. it has yellow and brown wires going to it and it has 1 side plugged in but on the other side of the cube it has a male and female connection.
it was dark so i couldn't see it very well.
is that dc power or ac? if i plug a sae connector into that and cut and splice connectors onto the other end of the sae connector wire will that power a cig lighter socket?
and sadly no i have not had time to fire it up and plug the fluke up to it to check.
I'm new to snowmobiling in general and everyday i am learning something new and loving it even more.
so any help would be great, if this is confusing i am very sorry i will try to get some pictures up if need be when i get home from work.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Unless the sled has electric start there is only ac power. If it has electric start (and a battery) you can run a fused line directly from the battery. If not, you will need to buy (or build) a regulator circuit for 12v dc.

Think Snow!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah no electric start or battery.
I just thought there was already a voltage rectifier that converted ac to dc to run the lights.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
177 Posts
Lights are AC, sorry. Many use the AC voltage for heated helmet, but for GPS or cell phone charging, you'll definitely need to add a dc circuit. Parts to build one are relatively cheap.

Think Snow!

·
Premium Member
3,072 Posts
you need to have a bridge rectifer to go from ac to dc voltage.