Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up my ATV on Saturday from a 500 mile tune-up which includes the oil change. Tonight I went into my garage and smelled gas. I looked under my ATV and there's a pool of gas under it. Upon closer look, there's a puddle of gas directly under the oil filter sitting on top of the skid plate and dripping through the holes in the skid plates. Everything is dry underneath except for a trail that appears to go up to the oil filter. When I run my finger around the oil filter and through the trail of liqued, the liqued is defintly gas. Has anyone ever had this issue? Is there something else I should check? Do dealers use Gas to clean around or lubricate the oil filter (I'm NOT a mechanic)?

·
Registered
81 Posts
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (kaptap @ Jan 23 2007, 08:22 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
I picked up my ATV on Saturday from a 500 mile tune-up which includes the oil change. Tonight I went into my garage and smelled gas. I looked under my ATV and there's a pool of gas under it. Upon closer look, there's a puddle of gas directly under the oil filter sitting on top of the skid plate and dripping through the holes in the skid plates. Everything is dry underneath except for a trail that appears to go up to the oil filter. When I run my finger around the oil filter and through the trail of liqued, the liqued is defintly gas. Has anyone ever had this issue? Is there something else I should check? Do dealers use Gas to clean around or lubricate the oil filter (I'm NOT a mechanic)?[/b]

Feel around the carb boots and see if it's coming from the carb and running down the crankcase to the filter area ...also check the overflow tube that is coming off the bottom of the carb ... perhaps they were mucking with the float adjustment and it's now overflowing out that tube, also check the gas feed to the carb and make sure the clamp on the hose is tight ???? just some ideas

·