Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

A Pre-season Must For All Carbed Sleds, All Makes And All Models

8K views 41 replies 27 participants last post by  forevergreen 
#1 · (Edited)
First off I want to say that I am a snowmobile mechanic and I have been getting a lot of sleds ready for people this year.

The most damaged items I have found, believe it or not is the fuel lines, they are just falling apart when you touch them, especially the pickup fuel line that is soaking in the gas on both sides that is bouncing around inside the tank. The culprit is the high priced ethanol soaked garbage that the oil manufactures call "gasoline".

I was ridding my 01 Mountain Cat 1000 last year and got stranded 25 miles from home when my pickup hose in the tank deteriorated to mush inside the tank and fell off at the nipple and ran out of gas. You will not notice it until the sled runs out of gas at a 1/3 of a tank because the level is below where the fuel line attaches at the tank.

If you pull the airbox off, you will see where the fuel line attaches to the tank, Pull the line off, take a wrench and loosen the nipple and pull the fuel line out and make sure the brass pickup weight is on the end of the hose.
Measure the length and make a new hose and put it back together, make sure you put Teflon tape on the threads when putting it back together.
Also, make sure you remove the gas cap if it has the gauge in it so the fuel line doesn't get hung up in it as you slide it in.

7 out of 10, the hose expands at the fittings and the pickup weight
falls off or it falls off the nipple end where the fitting screws in the tank since there is no clearance for a clamp or tie wrap on it, as it won't fit through the hole where it goes into the tank.

The other 3 out of 10 the hose is just mush or very brittle.

Take a look, may save you a lot of heartache.
Mike

See less See more
#5 ·