Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

'00 ZR 500 EFI Complete newb

989 views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  660catman 
#1 ·
Hi, I just got my first snowmobiles about a week ago on a trade for my truck... One of which (runs the most rough) is a '00 ZR 500 EFI. I work on cars and have experience with quads, but WOW how much of a different world Sleds are! That being said I have a few questions, starting with performance.

We noticed my clutch is marked as belonging to a 600, rather and a 500, is this a good or bad thing? (paint marker like it was marked when pulled off another sled.) #2, I can get on it and she wants to go once the clutch engages, however (speedo doesn't work so estimation) I hit 40mph and it bogs down from 7krpm to about 6krpm, if I go half throttle and slowly increase I can usually get it to what I believe is top speed. The only thing that we've noticed is the boots going into the motor both have large cracks as if it may be allowing too much air for the mixture thus bogging it down.

Now for the easier part, I am not usually so helpless, and don't want to be, I've seen some people talking about downloading owners manuals off the internet? Could someone point me in the direction of where I might be able to download these? I've got 4 sleds '99 440 carbed, '00 500 carbed, '00 500 EFI and a '01 ZL 600 EFI.

And 1 last thing, I can't seem to find (As it seems my googling skills have begun to decline this last year) a good source on line to purchase or look up parts. My closest dealer is a solid 45 minute drive alone, so online shopping would be preferred method for me. Thanks for your time and patience, I apologize if this has all been answered 1 million times before, but as a merchant marine, I'm terrible with the internet and computers, I don't use either very much anymore.

See less See more
#2 ·