NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » Snowmobiles » Arctic Cat Snowmobiles » Z/ZL/ZR/ZRT/Tcat/EXT/jag/cougar » Can I ditch the silencers and run straight pipes on a 580 motor? (drag sled conversion)

Old 10-31-2010, 01:44 PM   #1

Im a newb to pipes and I am going to attempt to build a drag sled out of a 94 zr580 - I have a set of slp pipes + silencers - I assume they are trail pipes but they are very skinny as well as the silencers - is there enough back pressure to run them straight and tube them out the side/bottom? aside from saving a few lbs will it add any hp and will jetting be a pita?
crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-31-2010, 06:04 PM   #2

bump
Old 11-01-2010, 08:21 AM   #3

Sled: 2005 f7 ext
10-11 Mileage:
09-10 Mileage: 2200
08-09 Mileage: 1700
07-08 Mileage: 2000
06-07 Mileage: 1000
Never run straight pipe on a 2-stroke sled. You will loose significant horse and make it more likely to blow up. 2-strokes need a certian amount of back pressure and a certian shape for the exhaust waves to bounce off of. Straight pipe gets ride of both.
Old 11-01-2010, 10:54 AM   #4

Sled: 1999 ZL600 EFI
I am by no means an expert on expansion chamber/2-stroke pipe design, but it is my understanding that the silencer is considered part of the "tuned length" of the pipe. The dimensions of the chamber are what really effect the performance, but the size and length of the smaller diameter outlet from the "bulge" plays a role too. As far as I know, there are no real gains to be had from running the pipes without silencers, especially if the pipes were designed to be used with them.
lazerfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 11:03 AM   #5

Sled: 97 zr440 02 zr cc
ATV: 99 polaris scrambler 400 4x4
2007 Mileage: don't know