Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

Hit throttle and dies... Suggestions???

21K views 29 replies 10 participants last post by  mtnbke_62 
#1 ·
I have a 1996 ZR 580 EFI that will idle fine but as soon as i hit the gas it will bog down and die. I've tried the TSS delete and that didn't fix it. Is there anyone that has had this problem and can help? I'm new to Arctic Cat sleds and especially new to EFI. Thank you so much

#3 ·
Is that the battery EFI in 96? They need a really strong battery to function properly. Maybe try a boost off a car and see if that fixes it.

Also that may be a closed ignition. For bypassing the TSS you need to jumper it and not remove the pin like on open ignitions.

#4 ·
I was thinking the TPS as well so now i gotta find specs on what that should OHMN at. Its got a brand new battery in it thats fully charged but i will put a jumper box on it and try that just to rule that out. And i put the jumper wire in the wire harness for the TSS delete so i'm assuming i did it right cause it did start and idle after i did that... Any other sensors that it might be?

#7 ·
You can do it, there will be a little clear window about the size of a eraser head on the computer. when you turn the switch on it should flash once.... start it up and run it and if the computer gets a incorrect reading from a sensor it will trip a code. It will be long and short flashes count them and post, I have the manual for the 96 efi and can tell you what sensor is acting up from the code.

#8 ·
Oh wow i didn't know that! When i go to the shop tomorrow i will do that and then post what it did. What manual do you have or recommend i get for this sled for future reference? Is a TPS sensor something that can be cleaned with electronic cleaner and fixed or is that something i'd have to just replace? And if so, where would i order one other than through a dealer? Thanks for this info by the way!

#9 ·