Old 01-05-2007, 10:52 PM   #1

Hi. This seems to be the place that experts on the vintage Sachs motors hang out. I'm new to these motors, but am in I the position of having to bring one back to life, or find a suitable replacement.

My first question, having done some research, is whether there are any actual differences between the Sachs KM914B and the Curtiss-Wright 1-18.5 -1 motors (also built by Sachs), or is the CW motor just a re-badge of the KM914B, such that all parts or the entire engine would interchange?

My other questions would be the usual ones you see from rotary newbies looking to tackle this, e.g. where NOS apex seals etc. can be scrounged, but my general impression is that requires a combination of patience and eBay. The scarcity and price of parts for these engines is shocking, with the cost of a set of apex seals about equivalent to the price of a running used vintage sled. Thus my question as to whether the CW (Sachs) engine is actually the same as the KM914B as to what parts will interchange. I have a rebuild manual for the KM914B and it never mentions the CW motor.

Thanks in advance for any info on this. I have been unable to find this out anywhere so far.
arktic-tekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 01-09-2007, 06:07 PM   #2

Sled: 2008 F8 Sno Pro
10-11 Mileage: 1800
09-10 Mileage: 2650
08-09 Mileage: 1400
07-08 Mileage: 1100
06-07 Mileage: 1200
ATV: Prowler
I'll admit I'm of no help, although your post has peaked my curiosity. What were some primary uses of the CW 1-18.5-1 motor? Perhaps knowing the uses would get the ball rolling to possible sources of information?
Old 01-10-2007, 04:08 PM   #3

Sled: 1972 303 Panther
ATV: Pontiac VAN
2007 Mileage: 20,000
After doing a lot of book worm digging over the past several years, here is the scoop: