Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

synthetic whinch rope

5K views 45 replies 15 participants last post by  jdeerela 
#1 ·
ive been thinking of replacing my steal winch cable with synthetic rope. anyone use it or know the good and bad points i gues you also have to replace the fairlead as well any suggestions I dunno

#3 ·
I have been using it for a couple years now. The cable did not take long to mess up and turn into a pile of junk.

The rope is just as strong,floats,goes in and out easy,easy on the hands and for the tree huggers it dosen't leave a bad mark. I give it 100%

Let me know if there are anymore questions...

#4 ·
Yeah, if the cable ever snaps while under tension, it can whip someone and cause serious injury. You have to stand clear of the thing.

If the rope lets go, it harmlessly falls limp and drops to the ground.

Some of the ATV guys mentioned this quite some time ago in another thread.

Seen both types fail since.

#6 ·
Originally posted by HungryCat650V-Twin@Jan 29 2005, 05:16 PM
One artical I read from I think it was Samson/Amsteel blue said just make sure there are no burrs on the roller fairlead and you will be fine running roller fairleads with rope.
I'm not going to change my fairlead out. From my experience, I'm only pinched for the 1st few feet if any at all. Maybe I'm the only one but when I start winching I aim the quad right at where I'm winching. I dunno

#7 ·
Originally posted by HungryCat650V-Twin@Jan 29 2005, 06:16 PM
One artical I read from I think it was Samson/Amsteel blue said just make sure there are no burrs on the roller fairlead and you will be fine running roller fairleads with rope.
Yeah, the spectra cord seems to be just fine on the rollers.

Probably because I didn't really have the steel rope in there for very long. And never actually used it before I swapped it out for the spectra mountian climing cord... So the rollers are still nick free.

#8 ·
Originally posted by customcat650@Jan 29 2005, 04:28 PM