Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

EPI clutch kit install

7K views 33 replies 5 participants last post by  Jdn58 
#1 ·
I ordered a EPI clutch kit and a local shop is going to install it. Originally they said it would take about 2 hours. Now they are saying they have to replace an internal gasket, pull cover and change oil and it's going to take 3 to 5 hours. What would be a fair amount of labor time I should expect from them?

#2 ·
seems pretty high...they ever work on a cat before lol? I would say 2 hours is PLENTY...3 max

#3 ·
Thanks for the advice. I talked to someone who knows Arctic Cats and said pretty much the same thing. Don't mind paying for good work especially since I'm basically worthless when it comes the mechanics!I dunno but i have also learned enough from this forum to protect myself from getting screwed over!

#4 ·
im no expert either, but sounds like they are doing the wet clutch too. ive watched videos on doing it and can see why it might take some time. reference to an internal gasket and oil change tips me off? let us know how ya like the kit!

#5 ·
#6 ·
Thanks for posting the video. I don't want to insult these guys but I'm going to let them know about this video. I suspect they didn't realize they needed to deal with the wet clutch when they ordered this kit. My bike is running fine now and I want improvement not having it run worse!

#7 ·
You can leave the wet clutch springs out they really arent that big of deal just adds a stall...Even with switching wet clutch springs i stand by my shop times its not hard, and a place that is suppose to know what they are doing should have no trouble doing it in 2 hours or less really. Ive never done wet springs but i can have it tore down in 20 mins or less to the point of that and im no mechanic so

I mean 5 hours i can have the entire bike stripped to the frame and put back together its really not to hard...if they cant do a clutch kit in that time then id be looking else where

#8 ·