Arctic Chat : Arctic Cat Forum banner

7000 Pantera questions

10K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Baydog 
#1 ·
Just joined the forum. Have ridden Polaris sleds for years but looking to buy a nice two up touring sled. Have been researching and I really like what I see with the 2015 and newer Pro-tour Pantera. I've not had a chance to ride one. There also seems to be a lot of non-current new Pantera's at dealers. Are these sleds good? I've heard people say there are a lot of reverse gear and clutch/belt problems with Cats. I'm not a newbie to sleds and I'm a pretty good wrench.

Looking to go 4 stroke, not looking for a warp speed missile so I'm sure the Yamaha triple would have plenty of power. What are the opinions on the 3000 model as well? Guess I would like to hear from those of you who own these sleds. What things are good? What things are not so good. Should I take the plunge and buy one?

#2 ·
Pantera 7000 is the best all-around touring sled I've ever ridden. Don't buy the 3000 if you want to go at least 50mph. The 7000 has plenty of power and handles like a Cadillac. Take the two up off and you have a single touring sled. I put a BMK torsion conversion kit in and love it. 4900 miles on original belt. No other problems. Changed oil and carbides this year only.

#4 ·
I have the 3000 pantera touring. It is not a lake rocket for sure but is probably the best touring machine out there. I tried both the 7000 and 3000. The 3000 was much lighter and handled better. The 7000 was noticeably heavy but definitely had more power and speed. It all depends on what your needs are. Neither is better than the other, just depends what it will be used for. If you like speed, get the 7000. If you like touring 2up, get the 3000, it's easier to drive.

#5 ·