NavbitArcticChat.com - Arctic Cat Forum » Side by Sides » Prowler » 11' Prowler 1000 Baja won't stay running

Prowler ArcticCat Prowler Forum. Contains all discussions for ArticCat SideXSides / UTVs.

Old 02-15-2014, 11:15 AM   #1

11' Prowler 1000 Baja won't stay running

First of all I'm new to the forum and looking forward to some advice from some knowledgeable folks. Thanks in advance for anyone who replies.

I am new to Arctic Cats but am familiar with ATV's and personally own a Yamaha Rhino. My father-in-law purchased a new 2010 or 2011 (can't remember exact year) Prowler 1000 Baja edition several years back. This unit doesnt get ran that much and probably only has approx. 200 miles on it and never had any problems. Ran strong all the time until this past year. The bike is not in my possession yet. It was sent to a mechanic and he has been to busy to troubleshoot the problem. I will be getting the machine today i hope and start to track down the problem.

It developed a problem when starting it. It will let you start the machine and starts to idle as it should. After about 30 seconds it will die and will not restart. You can leave it overnight and come back the next day and it will start up and run for about 30 seconds and die again. It almost seems as if it is flooding but not sure. The mechanic changed to the spark plugs and battery and made no difference. After that he assumed it wasnt getting fuel and installed a brand new fuel pump and still has the problem. So I am assuming it is not a fuel pump problem and never was to begin with.

I know how to turn a wrench and am pretty familiar with carb'd ATV motors but not so much with EFI's. My father-in-law ask me if I could help try and fix it and I agreed to try. I came to this forum to ask for any advice trying to fix this problem.

Is there any parts that I can verify are working correctly???

O2 sensor?
MAP sensor?
Injectors?
Fuel pump?
TPS? (could this cause the problem? How would you check it?)