Performance/Racing Asphalt, Grass, Ice. No BS. Just racing talk from the pros!

Old 10-11-2010, 03:48 PM   #1

Sled: 2003 Arctic Cat 440 Sno Pro
ATV: Polaris 330 Trailboss
I bought a 2003 440 Sno Pro recently and I moved it into my garage and noticed it was leaking. There are 2 hoses underneath the sled that are letting out what seems like oil. Its been sitting there doing this for 3 days and I tried to start it today and found out it won't start. Choke didnt make a difference. I'm somewhat new to snowmobiles and need some help figuring out why its leaking and why it won't start.
JordanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-14-2010, 11:49 PM   #2

Sled: 2003 440 Sno Pro
10-11 Mileage:
09-10 Mileage: 1500
08-09 Mileage: 550
07-08 Mileage: 300
06-07 Mileage: 1500
ATV: 2001 Sherco 290cc trials motorcycle
2008 Mileage: unknown
2007 Mileage: unknown
2006 Mileage: unknown
Those two hoses, if they are the ones that come out of the bottom of the side panel by the exhaust they are breathers as near as I can tell for your exhaust valves i'm not exactly sure of their purpose. Mine also "leak" if you want to call it that, it souldn't be a pudde just a small spot on the floor after a month or so if anything at all especially for how long it's been sitting there. As for the no starting issue just start troubleshooting, do you have spark? fuel getting to the carbs? fuel getting properly through the carbs to the engine? Good luck with it these are awesome little sleds! make sure to jet a little rich so you don't melt it down, a few fouled spark plugs are cheaper than an engine rebuild. I melted my first engine down so I swapped in an '02 motor ran it for last season tore it down to check things over and had a cracked piston skirt so now i'm rebuilding the top end on my original engine about $800 for a top end so far